First Sight

When I entered Biology II with Angela, she left my side to sit at one of the black-topped tables that occupied the room in place of desks. I had seen these plenty of times back in Phoenix, so they weren’t anything new to me.

Unfortunately, the chair next to Angela’s already had someone sitting in it. This was true for every chair in the room aside from one. The only unoccupied chair was right next to a young man who I had no trouble recognizing. It was one of the Cullens, Edward if I remember right. Of course, I only remember him because of his intense scrutiny of me during lunch. As a matter of fact, he seemed to be doing it again. What’s up with him? It’s like he’s looking for something and he’s not finding it.

Shaking my head, I walked past him towards the teacher, one Mr. Banner, to have him sign my slip. With that done, he handed me my textbook without asking me to introduce myself to the rest of the class, a rather welcome change after the embarrassment I suffered during Trigonometry. With that accomplished, I went back to the table where Edward sat and awkwardly sat next to him.

Then, I felt another headache come on. This was worse than the one I had during lunch. I had a hard time concentrating on any of Mr. Banner’s lectures because of it. The pain seemed to be centered on the left side of my cranium, right where Edward was staring at me. Wait. Could it be?

I shook my head. No. It couldn’t be. But, still, I couldn’t help but feel that he was trying to get inside my head and something was stopping him. If that was, in fact, the case, then I’d better say something, so that he’ll leave me be. But, if not, then I’d probably feel ridiculous or think I was crazy. Well, here goes nothing.

“What’s wrong with you? Why are you staring at me like that?” I asked quietly.

This made Edward break his gaze in surprise and, just like that, the headache went away. What is going on here?

“Um,” he muttered, seemingly at a loss for words.

Luckily for him, the bell rang then and he promptly excused himself.

“Please forgive me,” he said before walking out of the class.

What in the world was that all about?

Leave a Reply

